Travels in Western Europe

In 2000, 2001, and 2002 I traveled to various nations in Western Europe. Each trip was exciting and fulfilling in different ways, and although it has been more than 15 years now, I still enjoy the many memories.

During the first trip a French-German friend and I drove from Stasbourg, France along the German Autobahn to Hanover, Germany to attend Expo 2000, a World’s Fair. We stayed with his uncle in Hanover, enjoying German cuisine and culture, and, for myself, picking up a few German words. I stayed with his family in a small commune in the Alsace region of France for the remainder of this adventure which was in total about three weeks in time.

On the second visit, also with the same friend, we travelled extensively, going as far south as Valencia, Spain. We hitchhiked extensively, travelling hundreds of miles for free with kind French and Spanish drivers. Most nights we spent outdoors and our food consisted mostly of bread and sardines. Andorra, a small mountain country located between Spain and France, was perhaps the lovliest place which we visited.

The third adventure included England, Wales, and Scotland in the UK, Italy, France, and Switzerland. It was perhaps the most special because, besides meeting my French friend again, a Japanese friend accompanied me. Again we hitchhiked, making it all the way around France and into Italy and Switzerland. It ws an incredible journey.

Many of the places that I visited are shown in the accompanying image. In total, well over 5,000 miles (8,000 kilometers) were covered, mostly for free. I learned how to converse in French and to truly appreciate people and their cultures. As a university student I would major in cultural anthropology then graduate to become a teacher in the Republic of the Marshall Islands, and finally move to Japan to open a school with my wife.

Thank you to my friends in Europe!

A link to the official Expo 2000 site:
http://www.bie-paris.org/site/en/2000-hannover

Leave a comment